Yale University.Calendar.Directories.

Annual Awards


The Alice Kimball English Traveling Fellowships, the School’s oldest and largest endowed fellowships, established in 1893, are awarded annually for travel and study. In 2016 the following students were nominated for this honor: Graphic Design—Chase Thomas Booker, Anastasiia Raina; Painting/Printmaking—Hasabie Kidanu, Gerald Sheffield; Photography—Harry John Griffin, Anna Klara Shimshak; Sculpture—Michael Jevon Demps, Young Joo Lee.

The Robert Schoelkopf Memorial Traveling Fellowship is awarded annually to a painting/printmaking student for travel abroad between the first and second years of the program.

Return to Top


The following prizes are awarded annually to enrolled students who have demonstrated exceptional achievement:

  • Richard Benson Prize for excellence in photography, leadership within the program, and a desire to teach; the prize includes a one-term teaching fellowship in 2017
  • Blair Dickinson Memorial Prize for the woman whose whole person demonstrates a developing consciousness, a personal vision, and a spirit of search
  • Gloucester Landscape Painting Prize for excellence in landscape painting
  • Ralph Mayer Prize for proficiency in materials and techniques
  • Fannie B. Pardee Prize for excellence in sculpture
  • Schickle-Collingwood Prize in recognition of exceptional development and progress by a first-year student
  • Carol Schlosberg Memorial Prize for excellence in painting
  • Bradbury Thompson Memorial Prize for consistent excellence in graphic design
  • Ethel Childe Walker Prize in recognition of exceptional artistic development by an undergraduate student majoring in art

Return to Top

Honorary Awards

The following honorary awards are made each year by the faculty and the dean to enrolled students, on the basis of professional promise:

  • Phelps Berdan Memorial Award for distinction in painting/printmaking
  • George R. Bunker Award in recognition of an outstanding student in painting/printmaking
  • Ward Cheney Memorial Award in recognition of outstanding achievement in performance and composition
  • Elizabeth Canfield Hicks Award for outstanding achievement in drawing or painting from nature
  • Rebecca Taylor Porter Award for distinction in sculpture
  • Ely Harwood Schless Award for excellence in painting
  • John Ferguson Weir Award in recognition of an outstanding student in the School
  • Susan H. Whedon Award in recognition of an outstanding student in sculpture
  • Helen Watson Winternitz Award in recognition of an outstanding student in painting/printmaking

Return to Top

Award Recipients, 2016

  • Alice Kimball English Traveling Fellowships, Michael Jevon Demps, Hasabie Kidanu, Young Joo Lee, Gerald Sheffield
  • Robert Schoelkopf Memorial Traveling Fellowship, Abraham James Lampert
  • Richard Benson Prize, John Eli Durst
  • Blair Dickinson Memorial Prize, Ye Weon Mary Kim
  • Gloucester Landscape Painting Prize, Loren Britton
  • Ralph Mayer Prize, Tirhaga Salah Elsiddique
  • Fannie B. Pardee Prize, Tammy Kiku Logan
  • Schickle-Collingwood Prize, Danna Singer
  • Carol Schlosberg Memorial Prize, Coady Garland Brown
  • Bradbury Thompson Memorial Prizes, Martin Bek, Joshua Everett Graver
  • Ethel Childe Walker Prize, Annelisa Leinbach
Honorary awards
  • Phelps Berdan Memorial Award, Benjamin D. Fehrman-Lee
  • George R. Bunker Award, Alexander Paul Stevens
  • Ward Cheney Memorial Award, Sara Jayne Anderssen Cwynar
  • Elizabeth Canfield Hicks Award, Brook Helene Hsu
  • Rebecca Taylor Porter Award, Alexandra Rachel Portis
  • Ely Harwood Schless Memorial Fund Award, Edwin Allen Smalling
  • John Ferguson Weir Award, Cole Don Kelley
  • Susan H. Whedon Award, Virginia Lee Montgomery
  • Helen W. Winternitz Award, Erin Elizabeth Ikeler
  • Aperture Portfolio Prize, John Eli Durst
  • Dumphries House Residencies, Christie Grace DeNizio, Alexander Steven Jackson
  • Gamblin Paint Prize, Vincent Carmelo Stracquadanio
  • Toby Devan Lewis Fellowship, Tomashi Jackson
  • Leroy Neiman Foundation Fellowship at Ox-Bow, Erin Elizabeth Ikeler
  • Royal Drawing School Residency, Joseph Bouldin Hoyt
  • Skowhegan Residencies, Eddie Rodolfo Aparicio, Christina Elizabeth Quarles
  • Harriet Hale Woolley Residency in Paris, Alteronce Gumby, Zoe C. Walsh
Alumni awards

The following distinguished awards were made to School of Art alumni in 2016:

  • Anonymous Was a Woman Foundation Grant, Rona Pondick (M.F.A. Sculpture 1977)
  • Baloise Art Prizes, Sara Cwynar (M.F.A. Photography 2016), Mary Reid Kelley (M.F.A. Painting/Printmaking 2009)
  • Boston Institute of Contemporary Art James and Audrey Foster Prize, Lucy Kim (M.F.A. Painting/Printmaking 2007)
  • En Foco Photography Fellowship, Tommy Kha (M.F.A. Photography 2013)
  • John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowships, Dru Donovan (M.F.A. Photography 2009), Patrick Webb (M.F.A. Painting/Printmaking 1979)
  • International Center of Photography Infinity Award, Matthew Connors (M.F.A. Photography 2004)
  • John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation Grant, Mary Reid Kelley (M.F.A. Painting/Printmaking 2009)
  • Joan Mitchell Foundation Grant, Tschabala Self (M.F.A. Painting/Printmaking 2015)
  • New York Foundation for the Arts Grants, Ruth Laver Manenti (M.F.A. Painting/Printmaking 1995), Lida Suchy (M.F.A. Photography 1992)
  • Prix Canson, Njideka Akunyili Crosby (M.F.A. Painting/Printmaking 2011)
  • Sharpe-Walentas Studio Residency Awards, Sascha Braunig (M.F.A. Painting/Printmaking 2008), Jordan Casteel (M.F.A. Painting/Printmaking 2014), Caroline Wells Chandler (M.F.A. Painting/Printmaking 2011), Meredith James (M.F.A. Painting/Printmaking 2009)
  • United States Artists Fellow, Stanley Whitney (M.F.A. Painting/Printmaking 1972)
  • University of Iowa Grant Wood Fellowship, Tameka Jenean Norris (M.F.A. Painting/Printmaking 2012)

Return to Top

Yale QuickLinks.