Yale University.Calendar.Directories.

Prizes, 2015–2016

The ASCAP Cole Porter Prize is awarded to students of Yale School of Drama for excellence in writing. Awarded to Lindsey Rena Ferrentino.

The Edward C. Cole Memorial Award is sponsored by the Technical Design and Production Class of 1983 to commemorate the contributions of Edward C. Cole to the profession of technical theater. The recipients of this award, selected by their classmates in the graduating class of the Technical Design and Production department, best exemplify the ingenuity, creativity, craftsmanship, and dedication to the art of theater that are the hallmarks of the theater technician. Awarded to Mitchell Parker Massaro.

The Carol Finch Dye Prize, funded by Charles Finch in memory of his sister Carol Finch Dye ’59, is awarded to a graduating Acting student in recognition of artistry and commitment. Awarded to Melanie Elizabeth Field.

The John W. Gassner Memorial Prize is awarded for the best critical essay, article, or review by a student published in, or submitted to, Theater magazine. Awarded to Maria Inês Evangelista de Oliveira Marques.

The Bert Gruver Memorial Prize is awarded to a student of Yale School of Drama for excellence in stage management. Awarded to Victoria Cherise Whooper.

The Allen M. and Hildred L. Harvey Prize, established by Jean L. Harvey to recognize superior work and writing by Technical Design and Production students, is awarded to the student author of the best article in Technical Brief and/or the best Technical Design and Production research thesis. Awarded to Michael Kelsey Best.

The Morris J. Kaplan Prize is given to the third-year theater management student who most exhibits the integrity, commitment, and selfless dedication to high standards in the profession of nonprofit theater management that characterized Morris Kaplan’s twenty-year career as founding counsel to the League of Resident Theaters. Awarded to Emika Sandberg Abe.

The Julian Milton Kaufman Memorial Prize, established by Lily P. Kaufman in memory of her husband, Julian Kaufman, a 1954 alumnus of the Directing department who, through teaching at the secondary and university levels, touched the lives of countless young people, is awarded to a graduating directing student who has demonstrated talent in his or her chosen field of endeavor. Awarded to Luke Davis Harlan and Leora Morris.

The Jay and Rhonda Keene Prize is awarded to a student of Yale School of Drama who is studying costume design. Awarded to Sydney Gallas.

The Leo Lerman Graduate Fellowship in Design, given by friends of the late Mr. Lerman and the Samuel I. Newhouse Foundation, Inc., is awarded to students of costume design for the purpose of enabling them to study internationally upon their graduation from Yale School of Drama. Awarded to Asa John Benally.

The Dexter Wood Luke Memorial Prize, established by Jane Kaczmarek ’82, is awarded to third-year students whose sense of curiosity and sense of joy have enriched the lives of their colleagues at Yale School of Drama. Awarded to Taylor Jamal Barfield.

The Mentorship Award, established by the Class of 2000, honors graduating Technical Design and Production students who, through action, attitude, or inspiration, have motivated their fellow classmates. The honorees are selected by the first- and second-year Technical Design and Production students. Awarded to Mitchell Parker Massaro.

The Donald and Zorka Oenslager Travel Fellowship, established in 1996 through an estate gift from Zorka Oenslager, is awarded to design students who wish to study internationally upon graduation. Awarded to Andrew Françis Griffin and Alexander Mark Denby Woodward.

The Pierre-André Salim Prize is awarded to third-year students whose artistry, professionalism, collaborative energy, and commitment to the community have inspired their colleagues, and who show distinct promise of raising the standard of practice in the field. Awarded to Katharine Lesley Marvin.

The Frieda Shaw, Dr. Diana Mason OBE, and Denise Suttor Prize for Sound Design is awarded to graduating students in Sound Design to recognize distinctive breadth of achievement, artistry, and leadership. Awarded to Pornchanok Kanchanabanca.

The Oliver Thorndike Acting Award, established by Mrs. Nathaniel S. Simpkins, Jr., and supplemented by gifts from her son, Nathaniel Simpkins III, in memory of Oliver Thorndike Simpkins, whose stage name was Oliver Thorndike, is awarded annually to actors at Yale School of Drama who best exemplify the spirit of fellowship, cooperation, and devotion to the theater that characterized Mr. Thorndike. Awarded to Julian Elijah Martinez.

The George C. White Prize is awarded annually to a graduating student at Yale School of Drama whose work at YSD most closely demonstrates the distinctive qualities of George C. White, including appreciation for the value of arts throughout the world, curiosity about the people and events shaping our cultural heritage, respect for creative production management, and congeniality toward colleagues. Awarded to Elizabeth Michelle Peterson.

The Herschel Williams Prize, established by Mr. Williams, who was a member of the first class accepted in Drama at Yale, is awarded to acting students with outstanding ability. Awarded to Andrew Thomson Burnap.

Return to Top

Yale QuickLinks.