Yale University.Calendar.Directories.

Student Prizes

Awarded at the Yale School of Music Honors Dinner, May 8, 2016

The Woods Chandler Memorial Prize, for the best composition in a larger form written during the year. Awarded to Katherine Balch.

The Phyllis Curtin Career Entry Prize, to assist in launching the careers of graduating students who demonstrate exceptional promise and talent as artists. Awarded to Meechot Daliz Marrero Vazquez.

The Broadus Erle Prize, to outstanding violinists in the School of Music. Awarded to Ethan Scott Hoppe, Diomedes Saraza, Jr., and Ludomił Andrew Wojtkowski.

The Eliot Fisk Prize, to an outstanding guitarist whose artistic achievement and dedication have contributed greatly to the department. Awarded to Solomon Louis Silber.

Friedmann Thesis Prize, for a Master of Musical Arts thesis notable for its distinguished research, original perspective, in-depth engagement with its subject, and well-crafted presentation. Awarded to Yevgeny Yontov.

The Rena Greenwald Memorial Prize, for the best piano composition written during the year. Awarded to Brian Lee Heim.

Georgina Lucy Grosvenor Memorial Prize, to the violist in the graduating class whose performances while at Yale have exhibited the highest potential for success as a soloist or chamber musician. Awarded to Julia Clancy.

The Charles Ives Prize, to an outstanding organ major. Awarded to David Alexander Simon.

The John Day Jackson Prize, for an outstanding chamber music composition written for strings, with or without other instruments. Awarded to Tiange Zhou.

The David L. Kasdon Memorial Prize, to an outstanding singer in the School of Music. Awarded to Thomas Andrew Berry.

The Frances E. Osborne Kellogg Memorial Prize, for the best composition written in a contrapuntal style. Awarded to Krists Auznieks and Liliya Ugay.

The Ezra Laderman Prize, for the best composition written for musical theater or voice. Awarded to Dylan Mattingly.

The Charles S. Miller Prize, to a gifted pianist who has done outstanding work during the first year of study. Awarded to Seolyeong Jeong.

Malcolm L. Mitchell and Donald M. Roberts Class of 1957 Prize, to the outstanding graduating teaching artist in the Music in Schools program. Awarded to Stephanie Anastasia Tubiolo.

The Philip Francis Nelson Prize, for a student whose musicianship is outstanding and who demonstrates curiosity, talent, and entrepreneurial spirit in the many dimensions of the music profession. Awarded to Dylan Mattingly.

The Thomas Daniel Nyfenger Prize, to a student who has demonstrated the highest standard of excellence in woodwind playing. Awarded to Joanna Grace Wu.

The Aldo Parisot Prize, to gifted cellists who show promise for concert careers. Awarded to Zhilin Wang and Yoonha Yi.

The Elizabeth Parisot Prize, to outstanding pianists in the School of Music. Awarded to Dominic Anthony Cheli and Sun-A Park.

The Presser Foundation Music Award, for an outstanding student, to advance his or her music education. Awarded to Nozomi Imamura.

The Julia R. Sherman Prize, for excellence in organ playing. Awarded to Bradley Allan Burgess.

The John Swallow Prize, to a graduating student for outstanding brass performance. Awarded to Omar Dejesus.

The Yale School of Music Alumni Association Prize, for students who have not only excelled in their respective fields, but have also made an important contribution to the general life of the School. Awarded to Dae Hee Ahn, Katherine Balch, Benjamin Paolo Hoffman, William Bixby Kennedy III, Matthew Gordon Keown, Cornelia Sommer, Elly Toyoda, Yevgeny Yontov, and Jinxiang Yu.

Return to Top

Awarded at Commencement Ceremonies, May 23, 2016

The Harriet Gibbs Fox Memorial Prize, to a student who has achieved the highest grade point average during his or her first year at the School of Music. Awarded to Lee Michael David Starovich.

The Horatio Parker Memorial Prize, to students selected by the faculty as best fulfilling Dean Parker’s lofty musical ideals. Awarded to Pawel Konik.

The Dean’s Prize, the School’s highest excellence award, given to a member of the graduating class who is selected by the dean in consultation with the faculty. Awarded to Evanna Chiew.

Return to Top

Yale QuickLinks.